Sunday, June 08, 2008

Not Sure of the Name of This Meme

From Knit 'n' NASCAR, because I'm too worn out to really think. I played live today with the new band and I'm beat. Outdoor gig. Temps in the 95 range. Humidity. Thankfully there was a lovely breeze, a tent covering us, and we were in a shady park.

Accent: I'm from NW Ohio. Plus I'm a singer. I sound... like a newscaster. Except I've traveled, and I'm good at mimicking accents, so there are certain words that have crept into my way of speaking that probably give me an "accent" sometimes.

Breakfast or no breakfast: Always breakfast. Not cereal, either. It must be protein or I get the shakes within an hour. Eggs, bacon, hash browns, or some variation with eggs and bacon. Bacon & Egg sandwich. You name it.

Chore I don’t care for: lawn mowing, vacuuming. See, I can handle laundry, dishes, even cleaning the toilets. But those others? Beyond meh.

Dog or Cat: Cats in abundance. And horses. But I do like dogs—good-sized dogs. Not bedroom slipper dogs or yappy little things but biguns.

Essential Electronics: Computer, music gear, answering machine.

Favorite Cologne: Probably still Anais Anais on me. Drakkar on... well just give me the bottle, thank you, and a do not disturb sign.

Gold or Silver: Silver. REAL silver. (Nickel makes me itch.)

Handbag I carry most often: Handbag? Don't carry one. It's the same with wearing skirts—I feel like I'm in drag. My debit card and drivers license go in my back pocket and my money in the front. The keys hang off my belt loop from a carabiner. Huh. Last I checked I was still female but now I'm wondering. Actually, I'm more likely to be found carrying a gig bag (soft guitar case) than anything else. Or a messenger bag (for knitting).

Insomnia: Not so much anymore. Not since I began studying the Law of Attraction, doing affirmations, listening to meditation MP3s and monitoring my brain.

Job Title: MUSICIAN

Kids: They scare me. <--that's what Knit 'n' Nascar wrote and I AGREE!

Living Arrangements: Me, five cats, and way too many guitars in my childhood home in the suburbs. For now.

Most Admirable Trait: Generosity, probably.

Naughtiest Childhood Behavior: If I tell you, I'd have to kill you.

Overnight hospital stays: You mean with me in the bed? When I was five, after having my tonsils removed. Other than that, unintentional stays with my late parents.

Phobias: You can laugh, but... heights and BIG LEAVES. Yes. We're talking philodendron/elephant ear/rhubarb big flappy veiny jungly things. Absolutely terrifying. If you stuck me on a cliff 10,000 feet up and said the only way out was through this clump of elephant ears, I'd jump. No, I do not watch Lost.

Quote: "Men are disturbed not by things that happen, but by their OPINION of things that happen." —Epictetus, Greek Stoic Philosopher, 55-135 AD

Reason to smile: I played my first gig in nine years today and now I remember WHY I was a musician. First real performance onstage singing in nine years (karaoke/impromptu sit-ins don't count); first time I've played bass live onstage in 19 years; and the very first time—the DEBUT—of four of my songs live, with me on acoustic guitar. Big, big day for me—lots of comfort zone thresholds crossed!

Siblings: Well, now, that's complicated. Since I was adopted AND have been found by my biological family, I now know that I have one half-sister on the adopted side (the one with whom I'm debating over the estate); and biologically, there are four full sisters, two full brothers (one died in infancy), one (maybe two) half brother, and one half sister. I think it'd be easier at this point to just be an only child!

Time I wake up: Whenever. (The luxury of unemployment. Hey—wait—I AM employed now. As a working musician. Eh, it's still "whenever".)

Unusual Talent or Skill: I can burp REALLY REALLY well. Uh, I play guitar, bass, and I sing. I can ride bareback. I can dialogue with my horse. I dunno. Is any of that really unusual?

Vegetable I Refuse to Eat: Is it really a surprise that it is lettuce, cabbage, spinach, arugula, er, leaves? Not even shredded as in coleslaw. However, I can totally eat dried oregano and basil from spice jars. Go figure.

Worst Habit: Procrastination and self-doubt.

X-rays: Tons. I'm radioactive. Broken ankle at 16. Numerous chest x-rays because of recurring bronchitis all my life (and I'm a singer, of course); a few falls from horses (pre-Parelli) resulting in questionable injuries; ankles that seem to sprain every 10 minutes. And we won't talk about how many times this one tried to do the cool one-pedal dismount maneuver off her bicycle like all the other kids every summer—not grasping that we were the ONLY family on the block that still had a GRAVEL driveway... yeah. Gravel in the knee. More than once. You'd think I'd have learned. Then all those falls in recent years. My God, I think I built the hospital's radiology wing, come to think of it.

Yummy Stuff: Cheese, chocolate, milk. INDIAN FOOD. OMG INDIAN FOOD. The mouth drools just thinking about clarified buttery sauces and I just ate so that's kinda scary. (Pavlov? Where are you?)

Zoo Animal I Like Most: Lemurs. They're just weird, and I love their ring tails. (You thought I'd say zebras because of the horse thing, didn't ya? Admit it.)

lemurs

Labels:

1 Comments:

At 3:59 PM, June 09, 2008, Anonymous danielle said...

I think it's called the ABCs of Me, but I was too tired to look it up when I posted mine at 1 in the morning.

 

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home